Fall Skincare Routine

Hi everyone! Today I am sharing my fall/winter skin care routine. It’s been working really well for me, and I am pretty happy with all of the products. When I receive a compliment it’s usually on my skin, so I figured I must be doing something right.

I began mass researching on skin care products around a year ago. I picked most of these products based on online reviews from Makeupalley as well as beauty gurus and close friends. All of these products are mid-range, and not super expensive :)!

Here is my daytime routine:

Reviews from left to right:

Lancome Bienfait Multi-vital SPF30 : I received a deluxe sample at the Lancome counter during their GWP in late August. This is a pretty good high SPF cream, if you’re lazy like me and don’t want to invest in another sunscreen. It is really light weight, goes on very smoothly and contains a decent amount of moisture. However, this is mostly for skin on the oilier side. I mainly use this if I know I will be active outdoors when it is sunny. It’s a decent cream, but I probably wouldn’t repurchase the full size.

Ole Henriksen Truth Creme SPF15: I love, love, love this cream. It smells like heavenly orange sorbet ice cream. It is very rich and luxurious. I don’t recommend this if you have super oily skin, however for my oily-combination skin it works really well in the fall/winter. It moisturizes really well and clears up any dry patches I have on my skin very quickly. It also makes my skin super soft and supple :). LOVE.

Fresh Sugar Lips SPF15 in Rose: I originally received a small sample of this product as a birthday gift from Sephora. I finished it pretty quickly and liked it enough to buy a full size. It is super pricey for a lip product, however I find that it really instantly moisturizes your lips. Unlike the other drug store lipbalms I have tried, it leaves a very light soft layer of product on your lips since the actual product is very soft. It lasts for a few hours with regular wear, and you can definitely feel the light layer moisturizing on your lips during that time. For the Rose shade, it leaves a very natural flush of red on your lips. For more details and swatches, you can check out Vampy Varnish‘s detailed review.

100% Organic Coffee Bean Caffeine Eye Cream: I am really prone to dark circles and puffiness if I sleep any less than 7 hours. I was desperately searching for a good eyecream that was not ridiculously expensive. This is pretty much the best review from Makeupalley. I did see a dramatic reduction in puffiness but not in dark circles. However, unlike other eye creams I’ve used it is a lotion formula instead of a gel, so it does not have the “cooling effect” on the skin – so in other words, it doesn’t feel as nice when you put it on. It also smells a lot like coffee beans (not coffee), I’m impartial to the scent, but it is something to note if you do not like that particular scent. I mainly purchased it because it was fairly cheap for 30mL for about $20 including shipping on eBay. Overall it is a good product for puffiness but not if you’re looking to reduce darkness under the eyes.


Here is a more detailed picture of the eyecream. This is the updated packaging from the product website. It has a mini pump that is difficult to control at first, it pumps out way more than you need if you press it fully down, but it’s easy to get use to after awhile.

Here are the products for my night time routine:

Lancome’s Bi-Facil Eye Makeup Remover: This makeup remover is pretty pricey at $35CAD, but it truly does what it claims to do, and that is it removes all the make up even really stubborn waterproof makeup (like waterproof Japanese mascaras). I have tried Clinique’s make up remover, Estee Lauder’s and Elizabeth Arden’s, but none are as good as this one. It removes make up so easily, doesn’t sting the eyes and smells faintly of a rose garden. Although, this product is always included in GWP during Lancome’s promotional periods, so you can always test it out during that time. However, because of the price, I will most likely move on to Bioderma’s sensibio H20 (250mL)! I’ve heard really great things about it. It’s also sold at your local Shoppers.

Hada Labo Super Hyaluronic Acid: This product is amazing and fairly cheap!! Japanese toners are a bit strange since they are not suppose to cleanse your face but rather provide added moisture to your routine. You use them before you apply your regular right cream to help absorb the moisture of the night cream better. It is clear and it has the consistency of aloe vera drinks, like water but slightly more viscous. I’ve been using this for a year now and the bottle is only half way through. I feel that this product can even out moisture and help balance the oil secretion on your skin. Lots of advertisers have said hyaluronic acid is suppose to have anti-aging properties, but I cannot attest to that claim. However before using this I would frequently have little annoying pimples between my eyebrows and under my chin, however after using this for about a week they cleared up and didn’t come back (even during exam season). It is super cheap at $15 and has super rave reviews on MUA!

Clinique’s Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion: I started using this recently and I love this a lot more than my previous night creams (Nivea and Neutrogena). Although the previously used creams claimed to be “light” they were rather heavy on my oily-combination skin. This lotion is really runny, and definitely not creamy. It is pretty light weight and moisturizes my skin well and doesn’t clog up my pores. Sometimes when I would use my previous drugstore creams I would wake up with a layer of grease on my face!! I haven’t had that problem with this lotion and it seems to be doing its job of moisturizing. Also, $31 may seem steep for a night cream but it has a much larger quantity than other 50-60mL…since it actually contains 125mL! I would repurchase, maybe I’ll try the gel version in the summer.


Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair
: I received a sample of this serum as a GWP and I love this serum. I just finished my sample bottle. I usually use this when I feel drained and tired with dull looking skin. It instantly perks up my skin for the next day, I feel that my skin is brighter and more even looking. Also, I realize it also helps heal skin faster during acne scarring or cuts. However it is extremely expensive (IMHO) so I only use this when I feel my skin needs it (maybe 1-2x a week) and the 7.5mL sample lasted me a good 4 month. I feel that if you use it too often it may start to lose its effect on your skin when your skin gets use to it. I prefer this over Lancome’s Genifique serum which is also pricier.

Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Eye Cream: This is another pricey product from Estee Lauder. The sample size (7.5mL) is about half of the size of the actual product at 15mL…which is priced at a staggering $52!! It is a decent product, it feels very rich, cooling and soft on the skin. It sinks into the skin quickly and seem to help diminish dark circles under my eyes. However, I don’t feel the retail price justifies its effects or perhaps I’m not old enough yet to experience the differences. It does however last for a long time. At almost daily use the 7.5mL lasted me 4 month! I will most likely not repurchase and look for another eyecream when I’m done, and if I do I will be purchasing 2 sample sizes from eBay (which are about half of the price of the 15mL product).

I hope you enjoyed the skincare products review! I will do a update for cleansers soon!

– Becca

2 thoughts on “Fall Skincare Routine

  1. Amy

    Wow, Bec. I had no idea you were so into skin care. I consider it an achievement if I remember to slap on moisturizer with SPF for the day. :)

    Great post, and congrats again on being second author! <3

    Reply
    1. Becca Post author

      I think I’m more into skin care compared to make up…. Rather I only know certain categories of make up well. Better skin= less make up!! Thanks :) I was just lucky mostly!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

